Facebook vs. Google+

Social Networks Discussion

Well, you guys know me from various places. First of all, I’m on YouTube, SoundCloud, Twitter, and Google+, just to name a few. But one thing also matters: I am not on Facebook.

I am not even kidding. I am NOT on Facebook, and I am not even mentioned on Facebook except on my mother’s Facebook page (and she actually has a picture of herself and me as the main profile picture, but good luck with that since that picture actually dates from 2010 :P). The thing about it is that she didn’t let me have a Facebook account until a certain unknown requirement which maybe I might never meet. Well, who knows what, the day might come.

This was so not good. At the time (in 2011), my only social network was SoundCloud. I also joined YouTube later that year, but I didn’t upload any videos. All I did was subscribe to channels and favorite stuff, and even start comment fights. 😛

But there was another alternative to Facebook I was completely unaware of, and that was Google+. I actually found out about it after my other channel was killed due to it not being connected to Google+. I started using it only last year for my new YouTube channel, but I had to use my real name for my personal page. How frustrating. (UPDATE: These restrictions have been removed recently.)

After my extensive use of Google+ recently, I have found it so much better than Facebook in some cases. Here are a few benefits about Google+:

  1. Google+ comes from the most popular search engine company in the entire world.
  2. People that are on Google+ discuss serious facts and opinions and share their interests, which I find very convenient. People on Facebook, however, share memes and pointless articles, even comedy stuff. Some people do that most of the time. You know what?! If you want to do that, get 9GAG or Tumblr. I don’t know what else to say.
  3. Google+ is Facebook features + Twitter features + Skype features (Hangouts) + more.
  4. Google+ offers a better interface for businesses like The Verge and Engadget.
  5. If your YouTube channel is connected with Google+, your channel will get verified (see the check mark?) if you reach 1,000+ followers on Google+ and 3,000+ YouTube subscribers (info from Freedom!)

There are many more reasons why Google+ is better than Facebook, but you should find these out yourselves. Until then…

 

Leave a comment